Love.

A few days ago was my first experience on the train system in France. It was confusing at first, then exciting once I figured out the system and the ease of travel. I couldn’t help but to start thinking of how easy it is going to be to take day trips to the South of France (Provence, mon Cheri!), and countries in Europe I cannot wait to see.

My mind was unraveling with all of the possibilities when something else on the trains caught my attention.

There was a man laying on a bench at one of the train stations. He was obviously homeless, very dirty, alone, and looked sick. He was holding his head and rocking back and forth. As soon as I saw him my mind started running a thousand miles per hour.

How can I help him?
What does this man need? First, he needs a doctor. Then a shower. Then a haircut. He needs education, and probably counseling. He needs job opportunities, and life skills. He needs someone to stop and take time with him. Yes, of course, I don’t know why he is in this situation. Maybe he chose it. Maybe others have tried to help him and he didn’t help himself.

Maybe.

Or maybe something else…

I thought all of this as I was walking past him. As I left him lying there and didn’t do anything, that is when I thought all of these things…
There is a story in the Bible about the Good Samaritan (Luke 10). The Samaritan sees someone in need, stops and helps him.

Very simple.

The significance in the story comes prior to the Good Samaritan, when two other men passed the same person in need and did nothing. Jesus asks the man listening to the story, which man was the person’s neighbor?
“The one who had mercy on him” he replied.
“Go and do likewise.” was Jesus’ response.

The rest of the day I watched people on the trains.
No one makes eye contact with each other, no one talks on the trains, no one acknowledges each other.

We ignore.
We pretend we didn’t see.
It’s the same here, or in the US or anywhere.

So what is the answer? Stopping, seeing need, taking time, helping.

In a word, Love.

Leave a comment