“No, life cannot be understood flat on a page. It has to be lived; a person has to get out of his head, has to fall in love, has to memorize poems, has to jump off bridges into rivers, has to stand in an empty desert and whisper sonnets under his breath…We get one story, you and I, and one story alone.”

– Donald Miller, Through Painted Deserts

It is 4:30 AM on a Sunday morning. I’ve been up since 2:38 AM, if my tired memory serves me. This has been happening to me on about a weekly basis (and despite what I am about to blog about, I am hoping this early morning stuff stops). Why, you ask, would I be waking up so unmercifully early?

Well, because of this stuff.

Image

No, just kidding. I do love coffee, but that is not why I have been waking up so early. (But doesn’t that look delish?)

It has more to do with this quote:

“No, life cannot be understood flat on a page. It has to be lived; a person has to get out of his head, has to fall in love, has to memorize poems, has to jump off bridges into rivers, has to stand in an empty desert and whisper sonnets under his breath..We get one story, you and I, and one story alone.”

– Donald Miller, Through Painted Deserts

I’ve never read this book, but I saw this quote and it stopped me. Recently, all I have been able to think about is living my life to the fullest extent.  I have been putting incredible pressure on myself to do everything I have ever wanted to do, and pursue my dreams. And, in some strange way, I think that this waking up before sunrise has a lot to do with that. I’ve started grasping for life with both hands and an open heart. And really, truly, deeply wanting it. In some ways, it is like that has awoken a roaring lion inside. The lion that used to be content sleeping 9 hours every night, now wakes up in the middle of the night so excited about the coming day and the opportunities it brings.

I’ve gone from this.

To this.

 

This is definitely new for me. I am perhaps the most laid back individual I have ever met, and this type of drive, determination, urgency and excitement are very unknown to me.

And very awesome.

And waking me up at that crack of dawn.

Bisous. X

Lions and Coffee and Dreams, Oh My!

Leave a comment